The Bottom Of A Mom's Purse

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Happy Fathers Day! June 18, 2012

Happy fathers day to all the great fathers out there. I Hope everyone enjoyed their day regardless of parental status. It was a warm day so I took the girls to my dads.

My little Olivia. Jeff decided to spend the day on the couch.  He works all week I guess he’s earned it. I however, did not want to spend the day in the house all day. It wasn’t much but it was nice to get out. Not having my own car is mentally crippling me. I’m so bored. I shouldn’t complain, I worked hard for more than four years, sometimes working two or three jobs at once. So its kinda nice to slow down (as much you can with an infant and a 6-year-old)! Being a stay at home has its benefits definitely, but not having my own income is what’s killing me. It would be different in we could really afford for me to stay home. Sigh

 

So I was taking some courses this past spring and while doing research, I came across an article about a new trend. Stay at home dads. I knew they were out there (though I don’t personally know any), but I never really though about it being any different from a stay at home mom. apparently, according to the U.S. Census Bureau Stay at home dads are considered “child-care”.

 

Seems a bit bias. Stay at home moms are providers and stay at home dads are babysitters. Some would ask “who cares what the government labels us as?” but in a way it doesn matter, (at least a little). Dad’s that choose to stay home face a lot of discrimination. Even I’m not sure that I would be comfortable with the idea. being labeled as “childcare arrangement” isn’t pushing the movement any further.

 

We are stuck in some ways, and well progressed in others. I think as a woman I feel a need to be taken care of and protected. Yet, my sense of independence wants my own life/ money. In an even slightly perfect world, I would love to win even just a small fortune (well, who wouldn’t want that). Not tons, but just enough.

 

We can all dream can’t we?

 

Leave a Reply

