The Bottom Of A Mom's Purse

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Good Friends, Good Food July 5, 2012

Filed under: Family,Food — xmommy1x @ 3:23 am
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Ass a child I was very a picky eater. Worse, my mother just accepted it and didn’t generally make me eat anything I didn’t want to. I didn’t starve, she made a point of buying and making the things that I did eat. Now, Later in life, I’m still somewhat of a picky eater, but at least I’m more willing to try new things. I love eating out at new non-chain places or ordering non familiar dishes at familiar restaurants. It’s fun! With that being said, One of my best friends flew up from Texas and was here visiting friends and family.  She has a little girl about 18 months or so.

 

I found it interesting to watch and interact with her because its been a long time since Elyssa was that little and Olivia is still a bit away from being that big. At the same time she found amusement in playing with an older more interactive child. We had quite the day! We played games throughout the house including Hide and Seek.

 We walked to the local school yard and played and ran in the hot sun.

 

Once dinner time came around we ended up at the local Ihop. I love breakfast anytime of day. I don’t see the taboo in eating “breakfast” for dinner. As long as it’s somewhat healthy and/ or balanced. We knew Ihop would be perfect for the kids most of all. It’s nice, but not so nice that you worry about the mess kids leave behind. I got the bacon omelet with pancakes. Minus the chaos of the children, it was really good. I loved it. It had this amazing cheese sauce in the middle, and of course tons of bacon.

 

We hung out a bit longer until the children tiered out. I was purely exhausted. The heat, the excitement of it all, I was happy to end the day and put my feet up. Sheila is one of my best friends and even though she is [what seems like] a million miles away, we do a lot together throughout the year.

 

Being a stay at home mom can become very isolating. I find myself looking forward to cookouts and other get-togethers more so than I used to. For most of us it is in our human nature to be social. We thrive on human interaction. Don’t fight it, embrace it!

 

Leave a Reply

