The Bottom Of A Mom's Purse

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Life Can Happen Fast July 13, 2012

Filed under: Family — xmommy1x @ 3:18 am
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Last few weeks have been non-stop. It’s been cook-outs, pools, beaches and more, not to mention an ER visit with the wee one. In case all that fun was throwing all life off-balance, for whatever reason my sides/ribs have been horribly sore. It seems whenever I inflate my lungs, they apply pressure to whatever is hurting.

I don’t know if that’s even possible, but that’s what it feels like.

Really it’s only bad when I hiccup or yawn, which got me wondering (This right here is where it all starts, the  “wonder”):

Why do we yawn?

I’ve head a few different reasons over the years, but never really thought about it (or cared). I searched on good ol wiki for the true reason only to find out that my trusted goto site didn’t haven any more of an idea than I did.  A few theories that could go either way on whether they could be right or not. But that’s it.

So being out at strange houses (by strange I just mean houses other than ours) it’s always a question of what we’re gonna bring for the baby to sit/ lay in. Sometimes its the bouncy others it’s the stroller. Up until now it wasn’t a huge deal because she was probably gonna sleep most of the time, but now she tends to want to be apart of the crowd.

So a few years ago I saw something in target unlike anything I had seen before. It was a seat for babies who couldn’t support their heads yet. Unlike a bouncy, the BUMBO allows infants to fully sit up.

It’s perfect! Well, almost. It does have a few drawbacks:

 There are times where you might not want your little one so close to the ground.

Depending on your baby, he or she may grow out of the sit rather quickly. It supposed to go to 22lbs

This short use item has a price tag of 40 dollars or more!

 My best advice for acquiring this quite nifty piece of baby gear, Craigslist! I found it for 15 dollars from a mother who said her 9 month old who [get ready…] grew out of the wonder seat. Actually, I saw three within two days. There are trays that can be attached, new Amazon has them for less than 10 dollars.

So in all it is worth having, but it is not worth the price. Just be smart.

 

Leave a Reply

