The Bottom Of A Mom's Purse

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Perfect Pan Pancakes! July 28, 2012

Filed under: Food — xmommy1x @ 10:00 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Who doesn’t love a stack of warm of fluffy pancakes? I’m a big fan of the whole “breakfast for dinner” taboo. I know many turn up their noses at the idea, but why? It can be just as healthy and filling as any other meal. Besides With Jeff’s odd work hours mornings aren’t a time to eat… or really even be awake. Lol. I make breakfast often when I don’t know what to make or I simply just forgot to pull something out the freezer  ::Gasp! a mother forgets to do something!::For years I swore by Bisquick. Well, at least It was always what I used. Well always till I ran out and started making my own. These aren’t just any pancakes though. These are far more fluffed and tastier than any mix I have ever… uh.. mixed.

 

2 tbl white vinegar

3/4 cup of milk

1 cup of flour

2 tbl sugar

1 tsp baking power

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1 egg

2 tbl melted butter

 

Its easy I swear!

First: Mix the vinegar and the milk in a bowl. Set it aside

Second: Mix the flour, sugar, baking soda, baking power and salt

The milk and vinegar will turn “sour” and will be lumpy. Third: melt the butter (I nuke it for about 15 seconds) and add the butter and egg to the milk.

Now just combine the milk mixture with the flour mixture and whisk together. No need for an electric mixer, even a good spoon will do!

Sometimes I like to add a little cinnamon!

I don’t have an exact measurement for how much to pour into the pan, I just throw some in there. But do beware that the pancakes will rise a bit and if the pancake is too thick it won’t cook well in the middle.

For those using a gas stove, you may have to turn down the gas gradually as the pan will continuously get hotter burning the pancakes.

Flip once the side start to turn off-color. Once you make your first one you get the hang of it. I also use a quick dash of cooking spray.

I like to scramble up some eggs with cheese to go along. For fun a sprinkle of powdered sugar. A little fresh-cut fruit and it’s a meal!

 

Leave a Reply

